2 Russian Wizard of Oz Books by Volkov: Seven Underground Kings, Mystery of the Deserted Castle


In stock


Two interesting Russian Wizard of Oz books by Alexander Volkov –who wrote the “Magic Land” series on which Russian children were raised. These are early editions of the 3rd and 6th books in the series–Seven Underground Kings and Mystery of the Deserted Castle. Vintage Russian hardcover editions published in Moscow in 1976 and 1982. With map endpapers and stuffed with charming color illustrations by Vladimirsky, who also did the postcard sets I have listed. Fabulous space-age art!

Good to very good condition with some edge wear, tight bindings, one with some scuffing along edges of map endpapers, pages nice and clean.